Use our collection of databases to locate information on a broad range of subjects. If you’re connecting from home, work, or school you will need a valid library card and PIN, unless otherwise stated in the database description.
Use OPLIN’s (Ohio Public Library Information Network) search to explore Google Books results for authors. Books that are no longer covered by copyright (generally anything published before 1923) are available full text, otherwise only excerpts are included.
African American Heritage
This database is devoted to researching the history of African American families. The collection was created by leading genealogists to develop a comprehensive mix of resources, records, and tools specifically pertaining to African Americans.
NOTE: Ancestry Library is available remotely to all Ohio library cardholders through April, courtesy of ProQuest and its partner Ancestry. Visit https://ohioweblibrary.org/db/ancestry and enter your Ohio public library card number to access Ancestry Library.
This database gives you direct access to the Ancestry Library at ancestry.com. Here you can explore census collections, vital records, military records, photos and maps, plus much more. It’s time to explore your heritage and ancestry.com is the place to start.
This database is the premier reference and marketing database including 30 million business profiles & 220 million residents. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding relatives, and much more, this database gives you complete access to every business and every household in the U.S.
AtoZ Food America
AtoZ Food America is a database unlike any other on the market today. From regional cookbooks to an exploration of ethnic culinary influences, from fun collections of historic cookbooks and television commercials to “how to” food preparation videos, AtoZ Food America has something sure to educate and entertain everyone.
AtoZ World Culture
AtoZ World Culture is the most comprehensive country cultural database on the market today. Featuring in-depth information on 175 countries, AtoZ World Culture will give you a level of insight into each country that cannot be found anywhere else.
AtoZ World Food
AtoZ World Food is a food culture and traditional recipes database for 174 countries.
AtoZ World Travel
AtoZ World Travel is the most detailed travel resource for business and leisure travelers for more than 200 world cities. You instantly have access to a world travel guide which gives you city guides with city and regional maps, transportation info, attractions and nightlife, and language guides, plus much more.
Biography in Context (in library access only)
Biography in Context delivers outstanding research support with 600,000+ biographical entries — on more than 528,000 individuals — spanning history and geography. The included Lives & Perspectives Collection supports high-school curricula and university coursework by providing multidisciplinary content on notable figures and the societal forces that have shaped their lives.
Business Source Premier
Use this database to find articles on management, economics, and other business topics. Search by dozens of criteria, including Industry Code and Ticker Symbol.
The Chilton Library provides exclusive photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs) for automobiles and light trucks in one easy-to-use web site.
Consumer Health Complete
This database offers full text journals, magazines, and reference books from EBSCOhost dealing with health, wellness, fitness, and nutrition – coverage includes a focus on the complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health and wellness.
Research a variety of products with over 8000+ trusted reviews provided by Consumer Reports. Log in by using your library card.
Many of the Library’s magazine, journal article, and reference book databases are provided by the company Ebsco. Search all of them at once, or select specific databases, using this EBSCOhost link. Some databases cover special topics, such as education and medicine, while others cover several disciplines.
Through a library of tens of thousands of full-text journals and magazines from renowned publishers, EBSCO serves the content needs of all researchers (Academic, Medical, K-12, Public Library, Corporate, Government, etc.). With an easy to use search interface you have access to all types of resources for your research needs
Explora Public Libraries
Search for any subject and find academic journals, magazines, reference books, or other resources. Perfect for Teens and Adults performing any kind of research for school or work.
Explora Secondary School
Find information from a wide range of resources, including magazines and reference books. Geared toward students Grades 6-12, Explora can help with any school subject.
Discover your family’s military past through this database by Ancestry.com. Fold3 offers a convenient way to view military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of men and women who served.
This genealogy database offers access to census records, over 28,000 family and local history books, city directories, and more.
Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center
This EBSCO database offers detailed how-to instructions and ideas for hobby and craft enthusiasts. Content includes full text for nearly 2,000 magazines and books, over 720 videos, more than 180 hobby profiles, and over 10,000 recipes.
Home Improvement Reference Center
Explore home repair projects and home improvement ideas on this database provided by EBSCO. Discover more than130 full-text reference books, including major reference works from Creative Publishing International, over 40 full-text magazines and trade publications, 35,000 images not available anywhere else online, and nearly 100 videos of popular home repair projects.
Legal Forms Library
Legal Forms Library has thousands of legal forms available with more forms being added daily. Official, State Specific, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General Forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues. To gain access outside of the library use ID “ncpl”.
Literary Reference Center
The Literary Reference Center has the full text of literary journals and respected literary reference works; containing plot summaries, literary criticism, author biographies and interviews, and the full text of thousands of poems and short stories.
Literature Resource Center (in library access only)
This database provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. All the resources needed to complete a fantastic paper for school.
Read today’s issue and archives of the Canton Repository and 3500 additional media outlets. See full-page newspaper images, full text articles and more. Cite sources with just one click. Click “A-Z Source List” to search for a specific newspaper or outlet. Access all Ohio news source archives using this link.
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
Find your next great read for any age, fiction or nonfiction, whether it’s a pleasure read or a school assignment. Includes Common Core support for teachers, as well as Lexile scores and AR levels. Need help? Use our unique step-by-step guide.
Ohio Web Library
Research resources available to all Ohio residents.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias
Discover comprehensive collections of in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries in a wide array of academic fields, including the humanities, social sciences, and science. This database is from Oxford University Press.
PAQ (Position Analysis Questionnaire) Dictionary of Occupational Titles
Is a software database of job descriptions and job titles. This can be downloaded in the Library or from home.
Points of View
Points of View Reference Center contains many topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Providing a balance of materials from all viewpoints, it also includes over 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. It also offers guides for writing position papers, developing arguments and debating.
Salem Press Online Collection
View or search available titles online. For access outside of the library log in with your library card number.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
This searchable database offers large-scale maps in electronic format. The maps can be magnified and zoomed in and layered which is helpful for all types of researchers including local historians.
Science Reference Center
Topics covered in Science Reference Center include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. By providing a wide range of topics, Science Reference Center satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Small Business Reference Center
This database provides the tools needed for numerous small business topics through business videos, a help and advice section, access to full-text reference books pertaining to small businesses, as well as details on how to create business plans.
This database is for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language. There are over 100 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of over 26 languages.
Very Short Introductions
Get quick authoritative and accessible overviews of various subjects with this database by Oxford University Press. In this resource, hundreds of titles can be searched at once, opening up new pathways across subjects.
What Tree Is It?
Use this site to identify any tree indigenous to Ohio by leaf, fruit, or name.
What’s That Snake
Identify the snakes that live in Ohio, as well as explore facts and myths about snakes.
What’s the Point
Use the Glossary, Artifact Index, or the guide to identify flint artifacts that may be found in Ohio.
The World Book Web database is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related websites.
Voter Information (Ohio)
Check your voter registration and/or find your voting precinct and polling location.
An innovative K-3 database from Capstone Press that takes multimodal learning to the next step by making research and literacy accessible for the youngest students.
BookFlix inside the library
BookFlix from home or school
An online literacy resource that pairs classic video storybooks from Weston Woods with related nonfiction from Children’s Press and other trusted Scholastic imprints.
TrueFlix inside the library
TrueFlix from home or school
The only online resource that leverages the award-winning True Books content to help students hone literacy skills, build knowledge of subject-area content, and cultivate 21st Century Skills through the inquiry process.